Irish Battles

A Timeline of Irish Battles

Clontarf, 1014
The Death of Brian Boru
Battle of Clontarf - Morgan Lleweylen

Dublin, 1171

Athenry, 1316

Dysert O'Dea, 1318

The Battle of Callann (1261 A.D.)
The Battle of Dysert O'Dea
The Battle of Dysert O'Dea
Great page from the O'Dea clan site

Knockdoe, 1504

The Yellow Ford, 1508
Battle of Yellow Ford (includes an account of The Battle of Curlews)

Farsetmore, 1567

Clontibret, 1595

Moyry Pass, 1600

Kinsale, 1601

Benburb, 1646

Rathmines, 1649

The Boyne, 1690

Aughrim, 1691

Arklow, 1798

Miscellaneous and Related Battle Links

Patrick Sarfield
Defender of Limerick

Fenian Rising at Kilbaha, Co. Clare (1867)


Source:Irish Battles: A Military History of Ireland by G.A. Hayes-McCoy, 1969 provided the battle list from which this page originated.

Page last updated on 11/15/2004.
If you find a broken link or know of a new one we should include, please email us at